Joyce L. Connery, Chair Thomas A. Summers, Vice Chair Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



December 30, 2022

The Honorable Jennifer Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has named Mr. Jeffrey Duplessis of the Advanced Test Reactor (ATR) Complex, Idaho National Laboratory, as the 2021 Facility Representative of the Year.

Mr. Duplessis demonstrated superior leadership skills, technical competence, and dedication to nuclear safety oversight during an exceptionally challenging time for operations at the ATR Complex. He recognized the need for readiness activities to support a shipping activity that had not been performed in years, developed lock out/tag out best practices for the DOE complex, identified failure to follow a safety commitment for cask handling activities, and provided critical safety oversight during an ATR core internal changeout outage. The Board also recognizes the DOE Idaho Operations Office for supporting Mr. Duplessis and promoting nuclear safety.

The Board joins DOE and the field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by all DOE facility representatives and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Duplessis. The Board invites Mr. Duplessis to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Joyce Connery

Joyce L. Connery Chair

c: Mr. Robert Boston Mr. Jeffrey Duplessis Mr. Joe Olencz Joyce L. Connery, Chair Thomas A. Summers, Vice Chair Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



December 30, 2022

The Honorable Jennifer Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has awarded Mr. James Rachels of the National Nuclear Security Administration's (NNSA) Nevada Field Office the 2021 Annual Safety System Oversight (SSO) Award.

Mr. Rachels demonstrated outstanding safety oversight by identifying issues that required immediate attention to ensure personnel safety during abnormal hoisting events. These included hoist deceleration rates that did not meet requirements, egress inadequacies during power outages, and other needed hoisting and rigging improvements. Due to these and other accomplishments, Mr. Rachels is well deserving of this professional honor. The Board also recognizes the NNSA Nevada Field Office for supporting Mr. Rachels and promoting nuclear safety.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the importance of contributions made by all DOE's SSO engineers and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Rachels. The Board invites Mr. Rachels to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Joyce Connery

Joyce L. Connery Chair

c: Dr. David Bowman Mr. James Rachels Mr. Joe Olencz